Ginzburg Conference on Physics Ginzburg Conference on Physics
general information committees information bulletins account login
list of participants scientific program online proceedings contacts / site map
information bulletins

[ first information bulletin ]
[ second information bulletin ]
[ third information bulletin ]

Ginzburg Conference on Physics
will be held May 28óJune 2, 2012 in Moscow
The Conference is organized by the Tamm Theory Department of the Lebedev Institute

The Conference is a continuation of the series of Sakharov International Conferences held in 1991, 1996, 2002, 2009 as well as the Fradkin Memorial Conference held in 2000 and the 2005 Conference dedicated to the 70-year aniversary of the Tamm Theory Department.
The previous conferences were marked by a broad international participation (with 220 talks given at the 2009 event -

Vitaly Ginzburg, Nobel Prize winner and full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, worked at the Theory Department of the Lebedev Physical Institute since 1940, and headed the Department from 1971 till 1988.
His fruitful and versatile scientific achievements have won broad recognition: he was a foreign member of various scientific academies (including the United States National Academy of Sciences and the Royal Society) and a laureate of many scientific awards and prizes
The Conference will cover a various subjects:
  • Relativistic and Plasma Astrophysics
  • Strong Correlation Effects and High-Tc Superconductors
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • High-Energy Physics
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • Superstrings, Higher-Spin Theory and AdS/CFT Duality
  • Astroparticle Physics, Cosmology and Gravity Theory
  • Nonlinear Dynamics
Preliminary list of participants is now available at the conference web site.
The participation is mostly by invitation but applications will also be considered
The International Advisory Committee includes:
    I.Bozovic (Brookehaven National Lab.)  
    L.Brink (Chalmers Univ., Goteborg) Wit (Univ. of Utrecht)  
    E.Demler (Harvard Univ., Cambridge)  
    P.Fulde (Max Plank Inst., Dresden)  
    D.Gross (Kavli Inst., Santa Barbara)  
    I.Khalatnikov (Landau Inst., Chernogolovka)  
    I.Klebanov (Princeton Univ.)  
    A.J.Leggett (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)  
    A.Linde (Stanford Univ.)  
    D.Luest (Ludwig Maximilians Univ. of Munich)  
    J.Maldacena (Inst. for Advanced Study, Princeton)  
    L.McLerran (Brookehaven National Lab.)  
    V.Mukhanov (Ludwig Maximilians Univ. of Munich)  
    R.Narayan (Harvard Univ., Cambridge)  
    H.Nicolai (Max Plank Inst., Potsdam)  
    G.Nicolis (Univ. Libre de Bruxelles)  
    L.Pitaevskii (Kapitza Inst., Moscow, Univ. of Trento) 
    T.M.Rice (ETH, Zurich)  
    V.Ritus (Lebedev Inst., Moscow)  
    V.Rubakov (Inst. for Nuclear Research, Moscow)  
    M.Sadovskii (Inst. of Electrophysics, Ekaterinburg)  
    A.Sagnotti (Rome Univ. Tor Vergata & INFN, Rome)  
    S.Savrasov (Univ. of California, Davis)  
    J.Schwarz (California Inst. of Technology)  
    M.Scully (Texas A&M Univ.)  
    N.Seiberg (Inst. for Advanced Study, Princeton)  
    A.Slavnov (Steklov Inst., Moscow)  
    A.Starobinsky (Landau Inst., Chernogolovka)  
    K.Thorne (California Inst. of Technology)  
    W.Unruh (Univ. of British Columbia, Vancouver)  
    E.Witten (Inst. for Advanced Study, Princeton)  
    A.Wolfendale (Univ. of Durham)  
    V.Zheleznyakov (Inst. of Applied Phys., N.Novgorod)  
Local Organizing Committee
L.Keldysh (Lebedev Inst.) - Chairman  
Yu.Osipov (Russian Academy of Sciences, President),  
G.Mesyats (Russian Academy of Sciences, Vice-President, Lebedev Inst., Director),  
O.Ivanov (Lebedev Inst.) - Vice-Chairman,  
M.Vasiliev (Lebedev Inst.) - Vice-Chairman,  
V.Zaikin (Lebedev Inst.) - Vice-Chairman,  
B.Altshuler (Lebedev Inst.),   P.Arseev (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Barvinsky (Lebedev Inst.),   V.Beskin (Lebedev Inst.),   Yu.Bruk (Lebedev Inst.),   D.Chernyshov (Lebedev Inst.),   V.Dogiel (Lebedev Inst.),   I.Dremin (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Gurevich (Lebedev Inst.),   Ya.Istomin (Lebedev Inst.),   M.Kalenkov (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Leonidov (Lebedev Inst.),   O.Loiko (Lebedev Inst.),   S.Loiko (Lebedev Inst.),   R.Metsaev (Lebedev Inst.),   V.Nechitailo (Lebedev Inst.),   D.Nesterov (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Polezhaev (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Semikhatov (Lebedev Inst.),   O.Shaynkman (Lebedev Inst.),   M.Soloviev (Lebedev Inst.),   A.Tseytlin (Imperial Coll., London)   I.Tyutin (Lebedev Inst.),   Yu.Uspensky (Lebedev Inst.),   B.Voronov (Lebedev Inst.),   K.Zybin (Lebedev Inst.),  
The hotel prices are expected to vary from Euro 120 to 200 per night depending on the hotel
Participation Fee
The registration fee is expected to be around Euro 300 (or equivalent) for participants and Euro 150 for accompanying persons. The fee covers a welcome party, the banquet, coffee breaks and other organizational costs
Social Program
The Organizing Committee plans to arrange a Moscow sightseeing tour and cultural program
Addresses for correspondence:
GC2012 Organizing Committee,

Lebedev Physical Institute,
53 Leninsky Prospect, Moscow, 119991 Russia
Fax: 007 (499) 135 8533
web site:

We are looking forward to seeing you at the Conference in Moscow.
With Best Regards,
GC2012 Organizing Committee


© 2011-2012, Tamm Theory Department

Last update: June 20, 2011